Bond County Voters Will See Few Contested Local Elections, Several Propositions

Bond County voters will find few contested local elections on their ballots Tuesday.

Bond County Clerk Randy Reitz, Treasurer Katie Weiss, and Sherriff Jeff Brown will run unopposed. The only contested county race is in District Two of the Bond County Board. Democrat incumbent Gerald “Spanky” McCray will face Republican challenger Vance Daniken at the poll.

In Congressional races, voters in the Thirteen Congressional District will pick either Democrat Ann Callis or Republican incumbent Rodney Davis. Residents of the Fifteenth Congressional District will cast votes for incumbent Republican John Shimkus or Democrat challenger Eric Thorsland.

For State Senator, Republican incumbent Kyle McCarter is running unopposed.

For representative in the general assembly, voters in the 107th District will select either Republican incumbent John Cavaletto or Democrat Josh Berger.

For education service regions, Democrat Julie Wollerman is running unopposed for the office of Regional Superintendent of Schools for Bond, Christian, Effingham, Fayette, and Montgomery Counties; Democrat Robert A. Daiber is running unopposed for Madison County; and Democrat Kari Garretti and Republican Ron Daniels will face off in Clinton, Jefferson, Marion, and Washington Counties.

Local propositions on the ballot include deciding whether the Bond County Supervisor of Assessments should become an elected position. Some voters in Bond County will weigh in on the Breese Elementary School District 12 tax proposition, which asks if the tax rate for educational purposes should increase from .92 percent to 1.22 percent.

Statewide advisory questions include a minimum wage increase, the inclusion of birth control in health insurance plans, and school district funding.

Two changes to the Illinois Constitution are on the ballot. Contested state races include governor and lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state, comptroller, and treasurer. The lone federal race on the Bond County ballot is for United States Senator.

Previous articleVoters Can Change Constitution
Next articleTuesday Is Election Day