Eight Seek School Board Seats In Unit 2; Four In Unit 1

Monday was the deadline to file petitions to run for open school board seats in the Bond County Unit 2 and Mulberry Grove Unit 1 School Districts.

Eight individuals have filed to run for election to the Unit 2 School Board, while four have filed for the Unit 1 School Board.

Candidates who are elected to the Unit 2 School Board will fill three four-year terms, currently held by Scott Gaffner, James Jackson, and Nate Prater, expiring in April 2019, and one two-year term, currently held by Vance Daniken, expiring in April 2017.

Incumbent James Jackson will seek re-election to the school board for the two-year term and will face candidates Laura Wall of Sorento and Frank Doll of Pocahontas.

Candidates seeking the three full terms include Greg Zykan of Greenville, Randi Workman of Greenville, Nate Prater of Greenville, Andrea Young of Sorento, and Ashley Ammann-Driemeyer of Pocahontas.

In the Mulberry Grove Unit 1 School District, candidates will contend for three seats on the Board of Education. Four-year terms for current board members Bill Johnson, Teresa Tompkins, and Keith Steiner are expiring.

Those who will seek election are Liz Miller, Keith Steiner, and Nathan Mollett, all of Mulberry Grove, and Teresa Tompkins of Smithboro.

School board elections will be part of the consolidated election, held on April 7, 2015.

Previous articleGreenville College Shares Strategic Plan
Next articleWinter Weather Advisory In Effect For Christmas Eve