Bond County General Election Ballot Preview


Tuesday is election day with the polls open from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. If you’re not sure where to vote, call the Bond County Clerk’s office at 664-0449.

Greenville residents have four men running for two positions on the city council. Candidates are incumbents John Gillard and Kenny Hampton, Kyle Littlefield, and Jesse Adam.

For the Bond County Community Unit 2 school board, one two-year unexpired term is on the ballot along with three four-year terms. Candidates for the two-year term include incumbent James Jackson, Laura Wall, and Frank Doll. Running for the four-year terms are Greg Zykan, Randi Workman, incumbent Nathan Prater, Andrea Young, and Ashley Ammann-Driemeyer.

In the Mulberry Grove Unit 1 district, three four-year seats are to be filled. Four candidates are on the ballot. They are incumbents Teresa Tompkins and Keith Steiner, Liz Miller, and Nathan Mollett.

Four are seeking the three positions for the Kingsbury Park District board. They include incumbents Jose Lirios, Tommy Simpson, and Scott Crothers, and Barbara Smith.

Several villages have races that will be decided on election day.

In Donnellson, five persons are running for three four-year trustee positions. They include Gary Long, Bruce Goodin, Frances Jett, Cindy Hopwood and Jo Ann Jones.

Keyesport residents will elect three persons to four-year trustee terms. Candidates are Tricia Rich, Larry Edwards, Paul Bailey, and John Tutza Sr.

At Sorento, three four-year trustee seats are open and the four candidates consist of Gilbert Dealey, Jimmy Thomas, Fred Houchlei, and Lowell Halford.

At Smithboro, no one filed petitions before the deadline for mayor, clerk, a two-year trustee term and the three four-year terms. No candidates are on the ballot; however, positions will be filled by residents who officially filed as write-in candidates. The write-ins are Lowell Wildermann for mayor, Angela Strohkirch for village clerk, Bill Duckworth for the two-year trustee term and Don Matthews and Deloris Tevis for the four-year trustee terms.

In Panama, four persons are on the ballot for three four-year trustee terms. Candidates are Scott Kampmann, Charles Dixon, Douglas Cruthis and Adreanne Cruthis.

The Breese Elementary School District has three four-year terms on the ballot. There are four candidates including Brian Taylor, Lisa Wise, Koreen Voss, and Anne Davis.

Voters will fill four four-year positions in the Carlyle School District. The six candidates are Jimmy Rose, Jason Brinkmann, Laura Jansen, Terry Kampwerth, Steve Hoffman, and James Golder, Jr.

The Breese Elementary School District is asking residents to decide on a tax referendum. The district has proposed an increase in the education rate from 92 cents per $100 valuation to $1.22.

WGEL will begin reporting election results shortly after the polls close at 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Previous articleEmployees On Leave In Death Investigation At Murray Developmental Center
Next articleMorning Fire In Mulberry Grove Ag Building