SWEC Board Elects Officers

Southwestern Electric Cooperative’s board of directors recently elected several officers, including a new president, vice president and treasurer. Board members elected Ann Schwarm as president, Alan Libbra as vice president, Sandy Nevinger as treasurer, and Sandy Grapperhaus as secretary. Conducted each year after the cooperative’s Annual Meeting of Members, this year’s election of officers was held September 29.

Ann Schwarm, president of Southwestern Electric Cooperative, has been a director since 1993 and served as vice president of the board since 2010. She brings to her role a diverse professional background, including positions in agricultural communications, program development, education and small business management. Schwarm resides in Loogootee.

Alan Libbra, vice president, has served on Southwestern Electric’s board since 1982, acting as president from 1985 through September 2016. He guided the cooperative through the Soyland Power Cooperative buyout, to rate reductions in 1999 through 2001, and played a key role in the successful resolution of the Plum Point power contract, which led to the financial recovery Southwestern is experiencing today. Libbra is a resident of Alhambra.

Sandy Nevinger, treasurer, spent more than 30 years as a Southwestern Electric employee before running for the board in 2011. Nevinger is a past board member of the Bond-Madison Water Company and a lifetime member of the Bond County Memorial VFW Post 1377 Ladies’ Auxiliary, where she has served as a trustee and chaplain. A resident of Greenville, Nevinger assumes the treasurer’s duties from Barbara Tedrick, who served as treasurer since 1985.

Sandy Grapperhaus has served as a director since 2011 and as board secretary since September 2013. During her tenure, she’s pursued an aggressive regimen of coursework, earning Credentialed Cooperative Director designation from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association. Grapperhaus is a resident of Collinsville.

Southwestern Electric is a not-for-profit, member-owned utility serving close to 23,000 residential, commercial, agricultural and industrial member accounts in 11 Southwestern Illinois counties.

Previous articleRegistration Open For Polar Plunge
Next articleSupport Association Grant