Greenville FFA Brings Home Gold

FFA Members attending the State FFA Convention. Front Row L to R Cole Wall, Brianna Ulmer, Shelbi McCray, Marissa Schaefer, Maggie Poynter, Brad Beckert, and Grace Young Second Row Carson Mathewson, Logan Doll, Wil Harnetiaux, Levi Siebert, Chad Stearns, Markus Wall, Taylor Huels, and J.T. Thiems

Sixteen FFA members from the Greenville FFA Chapter attended the 89th Illinois State FFA Convention. The convention took place June 13-15, 2017 at the Prairie Capital Convention Center in Springfield. The Greenville FFA Chapter was selected as a Gold Emblem chapter in the National Chapter Award Program during the State FFA Convention. The National Chapter Award consists of three areas in which the chapter competes, Growing Leaders, Building Communities, and Strengthening Agriculture. The chapter placed first in the Section 19 in each of these categories and also received the Bankers Plaque for having the top program in Section 19. The chapter’s application is one of thirty applications that will also go onto the National FFA to be judged there. The chapter placed 1st in Section 19 and Gold Emblem in both the Cooperative Activities Program and the Heritage Activities program. The chapter will have two FFA members attending the Cooperative and Heritage Tours to Washington D.C. with the Illinois Farm Bureau for these accomplishments this summer. The Illinois Farm Bureau sponsors these awards. Other awards received by the chapter include the Sweepstakes Award for participation in all the programs sponsored by the Illinois FFA. The chapter was also recognized for their foundation collection this past year. The chapter placed fourth in State Foundation Collection and received the $8,000 Club Award.

Marissa Schaefer the District 4 Creed Speaking Winner participated in the State Creed Speaking Contest.
Members receiving their State FFA Degree – L to R Skylor Snow, Shelbi McCray, and Maddey Tebbe
Brooke Krankel 16-17 Section 19 President installing Shelbi McCray 17-18 Section 19 President
Skylor Snow recognized as the District 4 Star in Agriculture Placement. L to R Scott Snow, Tola Snow, Skylor Snow, Cody Suddeth, and Steve Zimmerman
Levi Siebert in the State FFA Chorus

Levi Siebert participated in the State FFA Chorus during the three days of the convention. Marissa Schaefer was the District 4 Creed Speaking winner and was one of ten that competed at the State FFA Creed Speaking Contest. Skylor Snow was recognized as being the District 4 Star in Agriculture Placement.

Skylor Snow, Shelbi McCray, and Maddey Tebbe each received their State FFA Degree. This is the highest recognition a member can receive at the State Level. It is based on record keeping, scholarship, and FFA involvement. The new section 19 officer team took their new positions which includes Greenville FFA member Shelbi McCray as Section 19 President while Brooke Krankel served as the outgoing Section 19 President.

Chapter members also had the opportunity to hear Valerie Earley, the National FFA Central Vice President, who gave her keynote address. Members also heard another keynote address by Hoan Do, of the American Ninja Warrior. Finally, chapter members heard retiring addresses from the 2016-2017 State FFA Officers while attending. New State Officers were also elected on Thursday morning. They include Joseph Birrittier, from the Waterloo FFA Chapter, President; Robert Janssen from the Abington-Avon FFA Chapter, Vice-President; Ryan Reeverts from the Byron FFA Chapter, Reporter; Dalton Painter from the Shiloh FFA Chapter, Secretary; and Chase Clausen from the Sycamore FFA Chapter, Treasurer.

SOURCEPhotos courtesy of Greenville FFA
Previous articleMillion Gallon Manure Operation
Next articleBolen Recognized By Health Board