KC Board & Federation Of Teachers Ratify New Contract

Bill Hawley, Chairman, KC Board of Trustees (R) and Ken Ingersoll, Vice President of the Kaskaskia College Federation of Teachers signing a new three year collective bargaining agreement.

The Kaskaskia College Board of Trustees met in emergency session on Friday, June 1. Board members include Bill Hawley (Odin), Linda Stover (Centralia), Dr. Dee Boswell, (Centralia), Jim Beasley (Centralia), Jack Mays (Centralia), Bryan Holthaus (St. Rose), and Laura Wedekemper (Shattuc).

The purpose of the meeting was the approval of a new three year contract between the college and the Kaskaskia College Federation of Teachers. The agreement calls for a two and one half percent increase on faculty base salaries the first year and two percent each of the succeeding two years plus step increases. In addition, by working together the faculty and administration identified savings that will allow for the college to maintain its current insurance coverage. While the plan will have a higher deductible, it will be offset with a Health Reimbursement Account (HRA) arrangement.

KC Interim President George Evans praised the faculty union and their representatives in working with the college to reach this new agreement. “I cannot commend the faculty union leadership and their Illinois Federation of Teachers Rep Keith Griffith enough for working together with the college in these positive, but challenging economic times,” said Evans.

Originally trustees were set to vote to ratify the tentative agreement at a special meeting on June 5; however, an emergency meeting was called for June 1 to ratify the agreement prior to the states’ new budget going into effect. This was due to provisions in the budget bill that could have a significant impact on certain provisions agreed on by the college and faculty.

Previous articleDAR Ancestry Workshop
Next articleFourth Fest Celebration Saturday, June 30