GHS Senior Awards Program

GHS Departmental Award Winners

The Bond County Unit 2 Academic Foundation held its annual senior awards program last Thursday night at the high school auditorium.

Receiving departmental awards were Jayden Zykan in foreign language, Cadie Neely in family and consumer sciences, Chloe Parks in vocational education, Lillian Powers in chorus, Alejandra Ahern in English, Sarah Klenke in biological science, Hayley Zbinden in art, Katelyn Thomason in band, Brock Nelson in mathematics, George Timmerman in physical science, Sam Knebel in business, Hunter Gray in social studies and Cole Wall in agriculture.

Twenty-two local scholarships were presented to students. Among the recipients were Madelyn Wade, Emily Unterbrink, John Campbell, Allyson Cantrill, Evan Oakley, Jacqueline Forys, Dalton Knerrer, Brock Nelson, Katie Hutchinson, Chad Stearns, Cole Wall, Sarah Klenke, Nia Ephron, and Olivia Langham.

High School Principal Wendy Porter reported this year’s seniors earned more than $1.5 million in scholarships to further their education.

Katie Hutchinson and Chad Stearns were given the Sportsmanship Award and the Athletic Gold Letter Awards went to Jaidyn Ackerman, Allyson Cantrill, B, Drew Frey and Hunter Gray.

Chad Stearns & Katie Hutchinson
Gold Letter Award Winners (L to R) Jaidyn Ackerman, Allyson Cantrill, B. Drew Frey, and Hunter Gray

Also recognized were the summa cum laude, magna cum laude and cum laude students in the Class of 2019.

The top 16 class members in the summa cum laude group, grade point average of 3.9-4.0 are Alejandra Ahern, John Campbell, Allyson Cantrill, Sarah Klenke, Sam Knebel, Reese Messerli, Brock Nelson, Joel Nord, Chad Stearns, Hannah Stubblefield, Kyle Sunderland, George Timmermann, Emily Unterbrink, Cole Wall, Christopher Watterson and Jaydyn Zykan.

Summa Cum Laude students

Magna Cum Laude students have a grade point average of 3.7-3.89. They are David Bare, Gaite Brauns, Madelyn Daiber, B. Drew Frey, Hunter Gray, Katie Hutchinson, Olivia Langham, Evan Oakley and Moriah Valentin.

Magna Cum Laude graduates

The Cum Laude group, with grade point averages of 3.5-3.69, includes Matthew Gilbert, Tucker Kemp, Ethan Matthews, Bailey Maroon, Raj Patel, Brian Prater, Dylan Sanders, Levi Siebert, Nicole Smith-Fisher, Molly Snow, Cody VonBurg and Madelyn Wade.

Cum Laude seniors
Previous articleFourth Fest Glow Run Results
Next articleGHS Baseball Falls Monday